Single Use Plastics

img_0393.jpg

Single use plastic bag

I’m pretty vigilant about not using single use plastics, but they still find their way into my home, most commonly via food packaging.

I take my cloth bags to the grocery store, my stainless steel tumbler to the coffee shop or just filled with tap water when I am out and about.

Shopping second-hand eliminates some of this single use plastic influx, but I still end up with a distressing amout of plastic in my home.

The above plastic bag arrived in my home, wrapping a house-warming present from a beloved friend. So rather than a rude, “Eeewww! Plastic!” response to my gift, I took both the present and wrap as a gift and began the process of recycling/reusing/repurposing the single use plastic bag.

I’m not sure when/where I will need a plastic bag, but I will make this one useful by making it small and locatable. First, I fold it neatly.

IMG_0394

Bag, folded in thirds.

IMG_0397(1)

Then you start a triangular fold.

And keep going until you have this end product:

IMG_0398(1)

Sometimes you have to tuck in an odd shape to the triangle at the end of folding.

And this little bitty plastic thing can be tucked away in the car glove box, the back pack, the mud room sorting bin, the yacht, the preschool diaper bin, the homeless shelter…[you get the idea] until the need for this type of plastic is superior to using cloth or wood or metal for the situation at hand.

Then you pull it out, and give it a second life. And hopefully after that, a third and fourth, before it’s inevitable recycle.

Because it is not about being 1000% perfect, it is about moving the needle in a healthier direction.

 

7 thoughts on “Single Use Plastics

    • Beatrice says:

      My reply was send before I finished it! I just want to share that I found a new way to carry my apple bites that I bring to work/for my daughter when we travel. Before I was using small plastic bags that I washed after use but after some use they were not so beautiful anymore, so I found a very cute plastified toiletery bag with a zipper and it works perfectly for bananas, apple bites etc….I just wipe it and dry it with a towel after use. Also, since it is a bit harder that a plastic bag, the food is better protected.

      Like

      • Fawn says:

        I love it when people find alternative ways to use products. And with just a bit of effort, single use can become multi-use. Good job!

        Like

Leave a comment