R.I.P. Sheba

It is with a bit of sadness (but only a bit, as we are talking about an object here) that I announce the Sheba renovation has come to a halt. I consulted with three construction experts over a period of 3 months. The consensus is that the Sheba project will not move forward. Technically, it is possible to repair the structural integrity of the trailer, in the same way that technically, it is possible to retrieve all of the Titanic artifacts from the ocean floor. It is just not worth the time and money involved.

So, this weekend I began demolition as Sheba is not strong enough to travel on the roads without shaking apart. Her roof is strong and heavy and I wasn’t sure I could bring it down on my own safely. First I removed the windows. Then  I removed some aluminum siding on the weakest side, hoping to have a planned “kneeling” in that direction.

IMG_0602

Windows out. Starting to remove the siding.

It was successful and I brought the roof down to where I can start to dismantle it safely. Here is Sheba at the end of the workday Sunday.

IMG_0604

What was the front–where the gas tanks used to be.

IMG_0606

Rear view. You can see what was the door frame laying on top of the heap.

Of course, I will recycle the aluminum and anything else I can find a home for.

To my readers:

  1. This project was full of lessons, do not be sad for me.
  2. I may do a tiny house in the future, but not right away as other projects/responsibilities are calling to me.
  3. I think I need to rename the blog. I am open to suggestions. I’m leaning to “A Minimalist Life” but I have not checked to see if the name is already taken. Suggestions?
23 thoughts on “R.I.P. Sheba

  1. Scarlet says:

    You should be congratulated for trying. That is how you learn lessons in life grow in character.
    I did enjoy your 15 days of frugal eating a lot. Thanks.

    Like

  2. Hayley says:

    I’m not sad for you – I’m happy you are moving forward. I imagine that was a great stressor hanging over your head. You are done and you can move on.

    Like

  3. Linda says:

    I’m sad to see Sheba come to an end. I liked following along with her progress. I like “A Minimalist Life” as a new name, but I don’t know if that name has been taken either. Enjoyed your 15 days of frugal eating posts!

    Like

  4. Peggy says:

    Are you still living a Small House Big Life? If yes, the title is still great. :-). A Minimalist Life is very nice, but quite a few minimalist blogs. Might be taken. It’s a good one!

    Like

  5. wmstchic says:

    While I am sad to see Sheba go I am in awe of all the work you have done. You are certainly more handy than I can even aspire to be! As for a blog re-name – how about “Minimalist Boomer” or “Less Stuff, More Life”.

    Like

  6. deanna in ar says:

    A Minimalist Life is very similar to several blogs already out there. I would not associate it with you, but would just wonder which minimalist blog it is. Not being negative…just stating my first thoughts. I hope you name it what you like…something to fit you. And, of course, this name may be just perfect!!!

    Like

  7. Jane hall says:

    RIP Sheba. It was a fun dream but as you are demonstrating, if it is not working and can’t work, move on to the next thing. You are my hero.

    Like

  8. meg says:

    sorry about this dream coming to an end but i am sure there will be another
    to take it’s place. so happy you will continue to blog. love to read what you have to
    share.

    Like

  9. gaildawson says:

    I temporarily lost your new blog but am very glad to have found it again. The budget meals series was just what I needed right now. I completely understand about Sheba: you observed, you learned, you made the right call. I did a *very* quick search and didn’t find an existing blog entitled “A Minimalist Life,” but an in-depth search would be better. I’d be delighted to continue to follow your blogging and learn from you, whatever your blog is called.

    Like

  10. Janice says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about Sheba!! I hope you don’t let this end your dreams for the future. Another opportunity will present itself, I’m sure. I think you should keep the name of your blog, as it still applies and that’s how everyone knows you. I’ve enjoyed reading all of your posts.

    Like

  11. suzi says:

    I am sad that your plans with Sheba didn’t work out. I hope you continue your blog. I do enjoy your work and philosophy

    Like

  12. Gillian says:

    Hello Fawn, I’m sorry to hear about Sheba and that things didn’t work you for you. I am really glad that you have decided to carry on blogging though as I always really enjoy your posts and agree with Janice that the name of your blog would still be appropriate.

    Like

  13. Adrienne says:

    Sorry Sheba didn’t make it :-(. It was interesting to follow and a learning adventure.
    Why change the name? Wherever you live you will most likely always choose a small house and continue to live a big life :-).
    A good reason will show up as to why Sheba didn’t make it. Perhaps something wonderful is coming into your life instead!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Adrienne says:

    Me again. Have you thought of a teardrop trailer. I’ve just found some interesting blogs about several women living fulltime in teardrops. Otherwise is there a possibility of building a tiny house on the existing trailer base?. Just a couple of ideas I thought I would share with you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

