Decluttering and Weight Loss

before_after_living_room_II_3880025_std

Reader Patricia requested a post on de-cluttering and weight loss. Others have written on this topic from the perspective of de-cluttering their homes and as the junk came out of their house, the “junk in their trunk” melted almost effortlessly away.

e8d03ff97f213e8ed2f42ba21dce7b83eb2f3301

This makes sense to me. Once you start down the path of asking, “What is enough?” in one area of your life, it begins to infiltrate others.

But since it’s been years since I had to do a big de-clutter, that has not been my story. My problem has been a combination of too much to do and a tendency toward perfectionism. This combination keeps me pushing myself to do “one more thing” before I collapse in exhaustion at the end of the day. And I have tried to “fuel” that push with caffeine, sugar or alcohol. That is where my enough point gets out of whack.

If I give up the endless To-Do list, if I pull back from my perfectionism to “good enough” levels and allow my body the rest it needs, my weight settles into a healthy place.

nap-time

How about you all? What are the enough spots that create healthy weight for you?

12 thoughts on “Decluttering and Weight Loss

  1. ruth says:

    For me it has been figuring out what is “enough” in terms of food storage which affects my weight and health. I had always wanted to be one of those moms who looked like they could make any gourmet dish in minutes from their pantry stock. I also had this ridiculous fear of running out of a particular ingredient or snack. Which is so dumb cause I live within 2 miles of 3 grocery stores and a walmart, all of which are open 24hrs a day! But nonetheless I kept enormous stores of food, a full fridge and a huge freezer stocked at all times. I even once kept 400 pounds (that is not a typo. Im serious…four HUNDRED pounds) of wheat berries (all sealed in airtight buckets) in my basement and would mill flour as needed.
    It was all crazy and it caused me to overeat cause I always had food around that was about to go bad. I then one day realized that the food in my huge freezer was like fake food. Just there for show since we never ate it cause even with all this food, I still went grocery shopping every week!!!!!
    Then when we were getting ready for a move, I decided to change and that we would eat all the food in the house cause I didn’t want to move it. It took us 3 months with only supplemental shopping for fresh veggies. Since then, I have improved a great deal. And I have finally got back to my healthy weight and have stayed there.

    Like

    • Béatrice says:

      This is very inspiring Ruth. I do not store much food but your story made me realize that I too have food for show. I have had a bag of corn to make popcorn in my pantry for 2 years now. I always though it would be nice to sit as a family and watch a movie and eat popcorn. But, this just not what we do and the only time I tried to offer it was mostly myself who ate from it. So, although I still find it a very nice idea, it just does not match with our reality. Although I hate to throw food away, I think I will just ditch it, or maybe I will give it just one more try ! 😉

      Like

    • Patricia says:

      Ruth, I think you have summed up my exact weakness to storing too much food and eating more because it is there. I also have grocery stores very near and tend to buy too much and store it. I think I need to reset my strategies to food buying. I don’t tend to do this with home canned, frozen and dried. though. Fawn, thank you for this post, I tend toward perfectionism also, and I need to explore a healthier balance to this.

      Like

  2. sumarie says:

    Just love the simple sentence about discovering what is enough — and how discovering this about possessions can infiltrate other areas as well. Just brilliant.

    Like

  3. Lee Ann says:

    Hi! it’s me again with another question. Most of the blogs I follow are frugal living blogs. These bloggers are quite the stockpilers. As a minimalist, do you stockpile? If so………….what do you stockpile and how much do you stock?

    Like

  4. Diane says:

    The living room looks a bit like mine minus the rug — l’m now hooked on all-white rooms. I don’t stockpile food because I prefer fresh but I do stockpile other items that way I never pay full price. As for keeping the minimalism look, I store the extras in the bottom of my china cabinet (only the top shelf hold dishes; bottom has toilet paper), kitchen cupboards and bedroom closet. As long as I don’t see it, it satisfies my frugal and minimalistic self.

    I would love to know how Patricia was able to keep her body toned as she lost the weight. I’ve lost 40 pounds so far and am doing a variety of exercises but I think I’ll need a tummy tuck once I’ve lost the remaining weight! How do you tone a tummy and inner thighs???

    Like

    • Fawn says:

      Inner thigh exercises: If you Google exercises, you’ll find a ton. As far as the tummy tuck–maybe. Some of the loose skin shrinks over time, but not all of it.

      Like

      • Diane says:

        I remember seeing a young woman on Oprah and she showed a photo of herself after losing 100 lbs. Her breasts were down to her knees, her abdomen looked like an apron (I think that’s the medical term?), her inner thighs jiggly like jello and her buttocks saggy and dimply. She underwent lots of surgery and looked terrific but like she said: “They don’t tell you about all the excess skin you’re left with on those extreme weight loss shows.” I’ve already started a savings account just for my tucks!

        Like

Leave a Reply

