Minimalist Christmas Celebration

bowl-of-christmas-ornaments

 

Who Boy! It’s starting.

The Holiday Season.

Secret Santas and holiday cookies. Special social events and charity requests. Decorating extravaganzas! While many people get positively giddy with all this season has to offer, I am not one of them. When my kids were little, the extra work involved in just stuff the school required was exhausting.

Today, I got an e-mail requesting that each of the band families (there are about 110 of us) bring two dozen, holiday themed, preferably home-made cookies to the winter concert.

No.         Just no.

Here is what my Christmas celebration and the month of December will look like: Gifts for grown son and daughter-in-law were obtained and wrapped before Thanksgiving. They spent Thanksgiving with my family (thanks for doing all the driving, kids) and will spend Christmas with my daughter-in-law’s family. I sent their gifts home with them, saving shipping costs.

Gifts for my other kids and mother and one friend have been purchased and wrapped and are waiting in a closet. I would put them out as decorations, but the cats eat the wrapping.

Our decorations are a fresh wreath on the front door, a bowl of ornaments and the stockings hung on the mantle. It took ten minutes tops to get all that up.

I plan to fix a nice meal Christmas eve, when I will be celebrating the holiday with my three younger children. We will open gifts after dinner. If I wasn’t working the next day, I would likely go to midnight Mass. But one of my colleagues, who has elementary aged children and her husband is having heart surgery two weeks before Christmas, is scheduled to work Christmas day.  I have offered to work for her.

So the month of December will be peaceful and joyful as I have already done all the work for the holiday that I choose to do.

6 thoughts on “Minimalist Christmas Celebration

  1. Pat says:

    Thanks for sharing your simple Christmas. I really like the focus on the family meal and going to Mass. The gift of working on Christmas for a friend is a blessing for that family. May your Christmas be filled with peace, joy and love.

    Like

  2. Romana says:

    I found your blog through miss minimalist as well. You are a genius. Everything you do is amazing. All your ideas are so waste not want not, use what you have, and just say no to what you can’t and don’t want to do. I love it! It’s inspiring. I’m jealous and not worthy. My house full of stuff is waiting for me and even though I’ve taken 3 trips to Goodwill with discards in the last couple months, there’s still a lot to do. The challenge will be worth it. Your blog will help me. Thanks a million.

    Like

    • Fawn says:

      Of course you are worthy. Every single one of us is worthy of learning how to be the very best human that we can know how to be. Bonus is it makes us and those around us happy too.

      Like

  3. verdant1 says:

    Thanks for sharing this. I love the idea of decorations in a bowl – it looks so beautiful! We try to focus on Christmas festivities on family and friends and not on commercial wotsits. It does help that it is summer here in New Zealand (though a wet one this year :~), which menas the social whirl is more tuned into BBQs than heavy cooked meals in a hot kitchen!

    Like

    • Fawn says:

      I gotta say….Christmas BBQ sounds like a great idea. I really, really like the idea of finding what works for an individual or family and not just following the Dickenson/Hollywood idea of what Christmas should be.

      Like

Leave a Reply

