Paying It Forward

Over the years many folks have lent a helping hand to our little family: giving rides to the kids, groceries and a bed when I was in college, moral support. None of these folks expected anything in return for their kindness, so when I get a chance I pay it forward.

I got an opportunity earlier this week. A young mom who has been having mobility problems has a beautiful flower bed that her school aged kids created for her on Mother’s day. Someone has kept it watered throughout the drought in the midwest this summer and the flowers continue to bloom. They had started to get overrun with grasses though, obscuring their beauty. So I did a guerilla weed. I drove the hour or so to their house, spent about an hour weeding the grass out of the flowers and drove home. It was the most fun I have had all week.

2 thoughts on “Paying It Forward

Leave a Reply

