Spending for the First Week of the Year

January 1: no spend day

January 2: $1.61 for ice (I know, I could make it at home, but work/life intervened and I ran out of time before the 7th grader party.) The party involved 13-year-old boys, electric guitar, silly string, drum set, a cooler of soda, a bag of chips and M & Ms. I think the party was successful…but with 7th grade boys it is hard to tell. Also spent $7.05 on a jar of yeast.

January 3: Internet service: $29.95, Drum lessons for the month $80.00, gas for car $28.53.

January 4: no spend day.

January 5: $3.02 for 1/2 gallon of organic milk, $85.00 for woodwind lessons for the month (this is 1/2 the usual price as our instructor had to cancel one lesson last month due to a death in the family and one this month due to work conflicts.)

January 6: no spend day.

January 7: no spend day. Actually, I had big plans for the day–work out at the gym, grocery shopping, leaf raking and other errands. But I woke up tired and decided that I needed a jammie day. Do not get me wrong, I have been productive: 5 loads of laundry, changed the burnt out light bulb, put away everything in the house that was out of place, ironed 1 week’s worth of work clothes, read a novel, cooked carrot soup (will post about that later,) washed the globes in the dining room fixture, cleaned several windows that have gotten missed during regular house cleanings, scrubbed the tub.

But I never changed out of my jammies and I didn’t leave the house all day….and it feels like a week’s worth of vacation.

All is well.

2 thoughts on “Spending for the First Week of the Year

  1. Karen says:

    I just wanted to let you know I find your posts quite inspiring. I’ve been a single mom for the last 7 yrs, and it’s helpful to see the way you tackle some of the challenges it presents head-on. Two of my biggest goals for this year are to do better with budgeting and meal planning, and your blog is helping me with both. By the way, I LOVE the Orange Sunshine! Thanks for posting the recipe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

